Café Anant

Australia’s Four Test Tour Of India, 2008

Posted on: October 9, 2008

India Vs. Australia has been one of the biggest cricket rivalries of recent times. At least it is so for these two cricketing nations. This contest came into picture mainly after the 2003 World Cup final between India and Australia which India lost. Since then, there have been many contests, many controversies and many thrilling cricketing moments between the 2 countries. To take this contest forward, Australia is touring India for a four test match series which starts in September 2008.

Despite grave security concerns and a series of blasts across India in the recent past including New Delhi which is the venue for one of the matches, Australia confirmed that it will still go ahead with the four test tour of India as per schedule. Although with added security arrangements for the team members at all times, Cricket Australia (CA) decided to go ahead with the tour, unlike the tour of Pakistan earlier this year which was called off due to security issues.

The schedule of the tour which stretches over September, October and November, 2008 is as follows:

  • 27th-28th September, 2008: RCA Center of Excellence Vs. Australia at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
  • 2nd-5th October, 2008: Indian Board President’s XI Vs. Australia at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad
  • 9th-13th October, 2008: 1st Test Match – India Vs. Australia at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
  • 17th-21st October, 2008: 2nd Test Match – India Vs. Australia at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh
  • 29th October-2nd November, 2008: 3rd Test – India Vs. Australia at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi
  • 6th-10th November, 2008: 4th Test – India Vs. Australia at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur

Australia has decided to play with a relatively inexperienced squad this time around with majority of the players having no experience of playing test cricket in India. On the other hand, the Indian team comprises of a list of veterans like Anil Kumble, Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid along with a few young players.

Australian Squad: Ricky Ponting (Captain), Michael Clarke (Vice Captain), Brad Haddin, Stuart Clark, Matthew Hayden, Phil Jaques, Michael Hussey, Doug Bollinger, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Jason Krejza, Peter Siddle, Shane Watson, Bryce McGain.

Indian Squad: Anil Kumble (Captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh, R P Singh, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, S Badrinath, Munaf Patel.

With Saurav Ganguly announcing his retirement from test cricket after this test series, this set of matches will mark the final performance of India’s most successful captian at this level and all eyes would be on the Prince of Calcutta for his royal exit.

Economic Times – Saurav Ganguly To Retire After Australia Series


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

wordpress stat

Blog Stats

  • 1,030,722 hits
October 2008
    Nov »
%d bloggers like this: